Hands of a Farmer: Thomas Epting

Name: Thomas Epting   Age: 26
What is your involvement in agriculture: I teach agriculture science in a far West Texas town where each day seems to move at a pace that reminds me to enjoy God’s gifts and blessings.

I have been involved in some form of agriculture my entire life. I was fortunate enough to be raised on a 365 acre piece of land that has been in my family for more than 150 years and has been used for production agriculture the entire time. I have seen the area around my families land turn from fields of grain and pastures full of fat calves running around, into gated communities, apartment complexes and one acre ʺranchettsʺ.

I decided while in high school to become an agriculture science teacher because I understand that the majority of the population has little to no knowledge of where their food and fiber come from and I want them to! My mission is to give students the gift of knowledge about agriculture, and also to become great leaders who work hard, are ethical, fair, and honest in their life.
What has been your most difficult moment in agriculture: My most difficult moment in agriculture has been the death of my mom in August of 2002. I lost someone who was very important to me. After she passed away, I kept looking back at my past and I was angry. In my mind, I was at a stock show every time I got bad news about my mom and her fight with a horrible disease. From the time she got sick until she died, I felt like if I hadn’t been at a stock show, I could have been helping her fight. So I lost my passion for agriculture and what I was doing in it, I lost my goals. But with the support of my family and with God, I was eventually able to pick myslef up and get back into the way of life that I knew I was meant to live, and the way of life I had dreamed of.

What is your most joyous moment in agriculture: Like a lot of others, I have experienced several joyous moments in agriculture. One is know that I help provide opportunities for students to learn about the greatest industry of all and expressing that it is a great way to live. Others included knowing that every morning when I wake up, drink my coffee and listen to the sounds that God gives us, I am going to have a great day. The experiences in agriculture have taught me to work efficently, be independent and to live my life so the preacher doesnt have to lie at my funeral.

Isaiah 41:10 – So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strenghten you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Tagged

11 thoughts on “Hands of a Farmer: Thomas Epting

  1. Gina says:

    Love it! Never lose sight of what is most important in your life. I am glad you got over your guilt feelings. There is no place for that in God’s world. Great job!

  2. Seasonsgirl says:

    Neat idea for posts 🙂

  3. Carin says:

    This made me cry.. I love u call me

  4. Courtney Pollard says:

    Great story. Goes to show that even through the hard times, there can be a positive outcome.

  5. clancey says:

    Awesome stories! big eye opener!

  6. michaelboyd says:

    that was pretty cool always keep looking forward

  7. Chase Toland says:

    This was very good!

  8. Brandon Davis says:

    Very interesting story.

  9. Malik Davis says:

    Amazing story!

  10. Zachary Deere says:

    Wow everything started out rough but pulled through it and great things happened.

  11. Cassidy Rawls says:

    God is always good! Amazing story!

Leave a Reply

