The Hands of a Wyoming Farmer: Brian Cox

Our first Out of State Post. Proving that farmers hands have to wear many different gloves.  From welding, to gardening, and weaning to greasing gears, farmers duties are varied and many.  Everyone welcome Brian Cox!

Hands Pictured Above: Brian Cox  Age: 29

Involvement in Agriculture: My involvement in agriculture is teaching high school Agriculture Science in Pine Bluffs, WY. I teach agriculture classes to students grades 7-12 as well as high school courses in horticulture and welding. When I was a child I had thousands of acres of imaginary fields that I tended to with my toy tractors, I knew that someday I wanted to be involved in agriculture. I started out showing pigs then later sheep at my county fairs then when I was in high school I joined the FFA. I enjoyed the program so much and it took me so many places that I decided there was no better way to become involved in agriculture and be a better advocate for the agriculture then to teach the future generations about what agriculture really is! On the production side my family also raises show lambs for FFA and 4-H members to exhibit at county and state fairs s as well as a few major shows.

Most Difficult Moment in Agriculture: Luckily for me not being involved in the production side of agriculture all of the highs and lows do not always affect me, but the most difficult time in agriculture that I have been a part of was this fall when the U.S. Department of Labor put tough regulations on what “Farm Kids” Could do. This could be potentially devastating to many family farms because the wording is unclear! I teach in a small town on the Wyoming, Nebraska, and Colorado border where nearly every person is involved in the agriculture industry or the oil and wind energy industry. With the tough regulations my students would not be able to operate any machinery on farms, show any type of breeding animal, vaccinate or treat any injured or sick animals, or work in any type of agriculture related jobs. Farm kids are taught work ethics, responsibility, and the true values of agriculture at a young age without them whose hands would the future of agriculture be in?

Most Joyous Moment in Agriculture: I do not think that I can begin to list the joys of agriculture! It would start when I sold my first show pig and made a profit! After that joining the FFA and putting on my FFA Jacket for the first time. Then winning the Wyoming FFA Parliamentary Procedure Contest and placing 3rd at nationals and getting to compete on National Finals Hall at the 2001 National Convention. Being a part on one of the most successful junior college livestock programs in the country at Casper College in Casper, WY. Winning the Arizona National and Cow Palace in sheep, beef, swine, reasons, and high team overall. Another joy was attending Texas Tech University and judging Livestock there and experiencing agriculture in another part of the country. I had never seen cotton in all of its stages until the summer of 2006. Getting my first teaching job, and placing two agronomy teams in the top ten and hauling sales and meats teams to state twice in my two years at Abernathy High School. Watching my first students in Wyoming place in CDE’s and watching my first student be named the Wyoming FFA extemporaneous speaking champion, But perhaps the biggest joy of being a teacher is knowing each day that you are going to teach you students something new about agriculture. These kids are our future and the more that they know about agriculture the brighter our future is! Someday they will be Vets, Lawyers, Mechanics, journalists, teachers, and maybe a few of them farmers and ranchers and knowing that you made a difference in their life by teaching them about agriculture!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Hands of a Wyoming Farmer: Brian Cox

  1. Shelley Gerk Heinrich says:

    Just read your post. In it you referred to being on the Colorado, Wyoming & Nebraska border. I have family in Julesburg and Holyoke area. You are dead on in your reference to work ethic! What is this US coming too?

  2. Margaret says:

    Thanks for being a teacher, you have touched many students! FFA has been a big part of our family and we have had many Ag teachers that have shaped our children’s lives!

  3. Casey says:

    Enjoyed reading your post Brian! Hope all is well your way.

  4. Deena says:

    Good job Brian! Great article!

Leave a Reply

