Hands of a New Farmer: Josh Snodgrass

Hands of a New Farmer: Josh Snodgrass

It is always nice to hear from a new generation of farmer!  Josh Snodgrass’s story is quite inspirational if you have ever considered farming for a living!

Hands Pictured Above: Josh Snodgrass Age: 23

Involvement in Agriculture:I am beginning my career as a cotton farmer in the Panhandle of Texas, specifically, Crosbyton, TX. 2012 will be my first crop on my own and I am extremely excited to see what the future holds for me. Production agriculture, in my opinion, is the most valuable job in the world. It all starts at the ground, literally, and to be involved in such an occupation makes me extremely proud. I have tried other jobs throughout college and I can’t ever seem to stay away from the farm. I love every aspect of our operation and enjoy waking up in the mornings to go to work. Production agriculture can tend to be a very stressful and time consuming occupation. In order to remain in operation for years into the future, it is very important to enjoy a hard day’s work. As an individual, I never back down from a challenge. Production agriculture is a challenging occupation that requires risk, effort, and hard work. It is very rewarding to me to be able to work very hard by putting in long hours and strenuous labor, and hopefully reap the benefits at the end of the season.

Most Difficult Moment in Agriculture: Since this is my first year, I don’t have many difficult moments just yet. In this occupation, it seems there will always be something difficult to worry about. To make that “perfect bumper crop,” the stars literally have to line up and everything has to fall into place. The farmer has to worry about the weather, the markets, finances, and the list could go on forever. I am starting my first year in the second worst drought in Texas history. I know that one day, it will rain, I just pray that it happens soon! Now that I am paying for my own inputs, I have found that EVERYTHING the farmer uses to grow a crop is expensive and continuing to increase. I can look back in the past and see certain events that can prove this life a difficult one. Two years ago, in 2010, we had that “perfect bumper crop” with the highest market prices in history and on October 22 at 2 in the morning, we had to listen to a violent hail storm beat our 3 and 4 bale crop to the ground. I know that difficult times like these will definitely happen.

Most Joyous Moment in Agriculture: The most joyous time for a farmer definitely has to be taking a crop to harvest. Farming is a very rewarding occupation. We don’t get a paycheck on a weekly or monthly basis, we put our lives on the line for six months out of the year and get paid once a year. When I plant that seed in the ground in May, put thousands and thousands of dollars into the crop throughout the season, and then harvest that crop in the fall and sell it at the end of the year, that paycheck proves to be a very joyous and rewarding time.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hands of a New Farmer: Josh Snodgrass

  1. Trey says:

    It is not like he has no experience. Josh grew up out in the middle of cotton, played with farm toys and has sat in, played in and driven farm equipment since he was a toddler. This may be his first year raising his own crop, but it is not his first year by any stretch of the imagination. I am extremely proud to be his uncle. Josh has demonstrated a work-ethic that is second to none his whole life. No matter the weather conditions, the over-zealous governmental regulation, he will be a success.

    • I completely agree! I have known Josh since he was a freshman in high school. It is great to see talented young people going back to farming. He comes from a hard working family and has done all he can to surround himself with
      Professionals that will ensure his success! What a great story, and we are very thankful for him submitting this story…

Leave a Reply

